Training Day

This past fall I ran a half marathon. It was a crazy time in my life. Every week I was adding more miles to be prepared to run on race day. Those months were full with different emotions. There was every emotion to be frustrated to be elating crossing the finish line. I loved it. I didn’t always enjoy the running in the rain or running when I was exhausted, but I loved the result and the ability to complete something I put my mind too. So after the running the half-marathon I decided to do a full one. This also bring a wide variety of emotions, one being excited! I went out yesterday to run seven miles. I have a schedule, however, 4 miles into the gym had to close the track for the colleges practice and all the treadmills were taken up so I only got to run 4 miles and do a little other cardio. So today I need to go and do seven miles or at least try to get the seven miles done today.

I write this to not just give you an update on what I am doing, but I write this to talk about the discipline it has established in my life, not only in exercise, but also in my spiritual life. I have found out whenever you want to do something you need to create a habit. It takes time, sweat, tears, and much more and once you create the habit you crave it. I know that there are days that I can’t go out on a run that I am restless all day. I am also seeing in my prayer and devotion life that there are days when I didn’t get a lot of time to spend in the Word that I miss it! I am glad that am these disciplines are established. I just pray I don’t stop.

2 Comments

  1. mwheeland said,

    January 24, 2010 at 12:20 am

    I agree.
    God has taught me a lot about my spiritual life through my work our routines, especially with the athletic imagery found in Pauline literature (“disciple my body” “train yourself for godliness”).

    The newest discipline I am trying to incorporate into my spiritual regiment is memorizing Scripture.

  2. January 27, 2010 at 3:21 am

    did you cry when they kicked you off the treadmill? is that when the “tears” came?
    poor patie.


Leave a comment